Queen of the Crop

IMG_5016

With with end of the semester quickly approaching and finals looming just over the horizon, I’ve been in desperate need of some r&r.  Or maybe just a break from writing papers, papers, and more papers.  My university town has a great community of artists and craftspeople that often get overlooked in favor of football and parties, which is such a shame.  But if you know where to look, there are some really cool arts events and festivals throughout the year and opportunities to support local artists and small businesses.  I’ve been attending these events since my Freshman year, and they’re one of my favorite things about where I live.  The most recent arts festival occurred this month, and taking a day off of homework to browse booths, hear some local bands, and buy some one-of-a-kind pieces was just what I needed.

Since the weather was warm, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to try out my new crop top.  For me, crop tops are scary things.  I have always been relatively conservative when it comes to my clothes.  Growing up, I definitely was not confident enough to show my stomach, but lately I’ve been loving how crop tops look on other people.  And with certain 80s and 90s fashions coming back into style, I figured I should just bite the bullet and do it, and I’m glad I did.  They’re incredibly figure-flattering and can be paired with looser bottoms and sneakers to create a comfy, slightly sporty vibe.

IMG_5017

Necklace - Local artist (Handpicked Goods by Sarah Hart on Facebook)
Necklace – Local artist (Handpicked Goods by Sarah Hart on Facebook)

In addition to crop tops, I’ve been all about the handmade jewelry lately.  I’m a huge advocate of shopping local and supporting artists and small businesses. It’s difficult for artists and craftspeople to support themselves on their art alone when so much of our consumer culture is dominated and perpetuated by large corporations, and products are mass-produced in factories.  But I’ve found through my own experiences with arts festivals and the artist community that when I shop local, I’m more likely to get a product that is well-made and personal.  So for unique pieces that you don’t mind spending a little extra on, I’d recommend you look into your community’s art scene.  I’m obsessed with this necklace I bought from a local jewelry maker.

IMG_5024

Finally, on a more frivolous note, scrunchies have come back, and I’m digging them.  My inner 90s child is rejoicing.

What are your favorite styles this season?

2 thoughts on “Queen of the Crop

Leave a Reply

