Good Things

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Tunes | Born Ruffians and this version of Novels by Rusty Clanton. I’ve been in a bit of a music slump lately. Usually I’m discovering new music all the time, but this season, that just hasn’t been the case. The exception to my musical drought is Born Ruffians. Their song “Needles” is fairly popular, and it was the only one I knew of before I clicked on their Spotify profile on a whim and discovered what I had been missing. Another song I’ve been loving lately is Novels by Rusty Clanton. I found this song while on a late-night Youtube binge, and I’m so glad I did. I’ve been listening to it nonstop.

Listen | Serial. I began listening to Serial per recommendation in early December, and I’ve been hooked ever since. The premise of the podcast is that investigative journalist Sara Koenig researches certain events and attempts to get to the truth of them. For instance, Season 1 followed Koenig’s attempt to decide whether or not a Maryland man, who was imprisoned as a teenager for murdering his girlfriend, is rightfully imprisoned. Season 2 is about Bowe Bergdahl, the American solider who walked off his post in Afghanistan, was imprisoned by the Taliban, and was the recent subject of a controversial trade. The podcast is incredibly engrossing, and I’ve been recommending it to everyone.

Attire | Ankle Boots. I got a pair of black ankle boots last winter, and they were an instant favorite. One year later, and I’m still wearing them nonstop, so much so that I had to get another pair in brown. They go with almost anything – jeans, leggings, dresses – and provide some much-needed warmth for this girl’s poor circulation during these cold days.

Body | Nourish. Lately, I’ve been trying to be more conscious of the things I put in and on my body. While I was browsing the shops of downtown Savannah a few months ago, I passed a window full of bath products and made all of my friends turn around and go in the shop with me. And thank goodness I did. Nourish is a cute little shop with locations in Georgia, South Carolina, and Florida that sells handmade, all natural bath products. They have everything from soap to lotion to shower gel to candles to bath fizzes. I love everything they sell, and literally everything smells good. I’m not exaggerating when I say I smelled every single thing in the shop, and not one thing smelled bad. My favorites at the moment are the salt scrubs, the face sponges, and the white tea ginger soap. One really cool thing about Nourish is that they include a list of all the ingredients they use in their products as well as a description of what each ingredient is. Each product, including its packaging, is biodegradable. They contain no parabens, sulfates, or animal products. Nourish products are available online, and they ship (hint, hint).

Bath | Acure Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo and Conditioner. A few weeks ago, while in the shower, I decided randomly to read the ingredients of my shampoo and conditioner and made the disheartening discovery that they contained lots of sketchy chemicals and additives despite insinuating via product names and packaging to be organic. The next day, I went to the store and read the ingredients for tons of bottles of shampoo and finally found one that is all natural, sulfate free, paraben free, gluten free, phthalate free, cruelty free, fair trade, organic, and vegan. Also, it smells really good and makes your hair really shiny. All around win in my book.

Drink | Teavana Youthberry Wild Orange Blossom blend. Two words. Pink. Tea. It’s no secret that I’m addicted (and I mean addicted) to coffee, but an addiction to coffee comes with an addiction to caffeine. There was a time when I would get horrible headaches if I didn’t have at least one cup of coffee per day. As someone who doesn’t like to take medicine for every little thing, this was a problem, especially when I was in a situation where coffee wasn’t available. So I cut back and tried to substitute coffee for tea, which has much less caffeine than coffee if any at all. And while I wouldn’t say that I’ve completely replaced coffee with tea (or that I ever truly will in my heart and soul) I’ve been loving the youthberry wild orange blossom tea from Teavana lately. It’s pink. It’s delicious. And the loose tea is really pretty.

Activity | Knitting. I taught myself to knit during my senior year of high school and for a few years after would knit a scarf here and there. Lately, though, I’ve gotten back into it and have been really enjoying trying out new stitches and patterns. I’ve even started selling the scarves I make with plans to open an Etsy shop soon.

Blogger | Deer Circus. Bridget, owner of Deer Circus, writes the most beautiful essays and takes the most beautiful photos. I absolutely adore following the minute, day-to-day facets of her life.

What have you been loving?

– Lauren

3 thoughts on “Good Things

  1. Hey, I love your blog so I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Awards (posted on my blog)! More importantly: I just bought a pair of black ankle boots and I’m already obsessed.

Leave a Reply

