Serenbe

_MG_8145

I stumbled upon Serenbe one night when I read on Twitter than one of my favorite poets was doing an artist in residency program there. Curious about this artistic community that I had never heard of despite its close proximity to my home in Alabama, I did a quick Google search. Intrigued by what I found and with the realization that I had no Spring Break plans, I texted my mom and suggested a girls’ trip. We booked the cabin the next day.

IMG_8022

Serenbe is a sustainable farm and art community located just outside of Atlanta. Situated on about 60 acres of land, it houses cabins for guests, a farm-to-table restaurant, farm animals, a garden, hiking trails, and a residential community. It sounded like the perfect, relaxing vacation for my week off of school.

IMG_8033

The majority of our stay was spent exploring the grounds, hiking, seeing the animals (including a very friendly pig), browsing the shops in the little town, sitting on the back porch of our cabin, and eating at the cutest bakery.

_MG_8122_MG_8112

IMG_8038_MG_8078_MG_8073DSC_1317_MG_8090_MG_8095DSC_1323_MG_8088_MG_8110DSC_1358_MG_8147_MG_8156_MG_8193_MG_8194

I’ve been thinking a lot about the concept of slow living, recently, which is definitely a difficult concept to practice as I’m in the midst of the hardest classes for my degree. These days, I feel like I’m in a constant state of stress (not to sound dramatic or anything), so spending some time out in nature and (mostly) unplugged was just what I needed. At the risk of sounding like a bonafide Romantic, I have to say that there’s nothing quite like hiking through the woods on an early spring day. The perfect weather, the way the sunlight seems to have gotten little brighter, the greenness of everything. I couldn’t help but think of a poem by one of my favorites, Alfred Tennyson (a Victorian, as irony would have it), called “Early Spring.”

“For now the Heavenly Power

Makes all things new,

and thaws the cold, and fills

The flower with dew;

The blackbirds have their wills,

The poets too.”

Check out the entire poem here.

What’s your favorite spring thing?

– Lauren

4 thoughts on “Serenbe

  1. Wow, I’m not usually one for vacationing in a cabin, but I do appreciate slow living and it looks like the farm was absolutely lovely. The bakery exterior is so cute!

    1. Everything about the farm was absolutely perfect. And I’m obsessed with any and all bakeries, especially ones as cute as that one. Fun fact: it’s owned by one of the winners of Cupcake Wars.

Leave a Reply

