Good Things

_MG_8564

Movies | Roman Holiday. I love watching black and white movies on rainy days. Roman Holiday is a really great one that follows a princess – played by Audrey Hepburn – as she sneaks away from her handlers to spend a ordinary day in Rome.

Drink | Matcha. Matcha has a ton of health benefits. It’s packed with antioxidants, improves your immune system, and boosts concentration. Plus, it’s very tasty. Matcha can be prepared like tea or a latte, but my favorite way to drink matcha is in matcha water. Just mix a bit of matcha with some cold water and shake it up.

Music | This Justin Bieber cover. This cover of Love Yourself is so catchy and fun.

Writer | Joan Didion. I’ve been loving Joan Didion’s memoirs recently. So far I’ve read The Year of Magical Thinking and Blue Nights. I love Didion’s writing style, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest of her books.

Magazine | Oxford American. Oxford American is a literary journal that celebrates southern art and writing. So many people see the South as culturally defunct when that just isn’t true, so I love that there are publications like Oxford American that celebrate art and culture of the South.

Reads | Classic Poems Modified for Climate Change. I’m not sure how anyone came up with this idea, but these famous poems modified for climate change are so funny. The Waste Land and April Rain Song are my favorites.

Art | Lee Jeffries’ portraits of the homeless. I’ve been really interested in low key photography lately, and this photo series by Lee Jeffries is stunning.

Podcasts | New Yorker Fiction. I’ve been listening to podcasts like crazy lately, especially during my art classes. One of my favorites is the New Yorker Fiction podcast. In it, a writer who has been published in the New Yorker chooses a story by another writer who has been published in the New Yorker and reads it out loud. Then, fiction editor Deborah Treisman and the featured writer discuss the story.

Swimwear | Kortni Jeane. Check out Kortni Jeane for some really cute, vintage-inspired swimsuits. Best part? They’re made in the good old USA.

Shampoo | Shea Moisture Peace Rose Oil Shampoo. This shampoo is organic, fair trade, sulfate free, and smells so good. Also, a portion of the profits go toward supporting women-led business in the communities where the ingredients for the products originate.

Essential Oil | Rose Hip Seed Oil. Rose hip seed oil is my go-to essential oil at the moment. I’ve been using it as a moisturizer and eye cream, and it’s doing wonders for my skin. Rose hip seed oil has so many skincare benefits. It reduces the appearance of scars, moisturizes, and has anti-aging properties, to name a few.

Jewelry | The Giving Keys. The Giving Keys is a jewelry company that makes cute and simple necklaces and bracelets out of keys inscribed with inspiring words. The idea behind the keys is to spread positivity by passing the keys on to people in your life. Also, the profits help people transition out of homelessness.

xxx

What have you been loving lately?

– Lauren

 

3 thoughts on “Good Things

  1. Matcha lattes are my faaave! And if you have any other podcasts to recommend I’d love to know what they are. I want to start listening to them but have no idea where to start!

Leave a Reply

