Back At It

wall2

Every single year, I do this thing where I go back to school in August and completely neglect this blog for weeks. This year, at least, I have a good reason. Here’s what’s going on with me.

  1. I started my last semester of my undergraduate degree. I’m taking five classes, working as the editor of a literary journal on campus, and serving as the president of the English honor society.
  2. I’ve been studying like a maniac for the GRE, writing personal statements, and getting ready to apply for graduate programs in English literature and creative writing.
  3. I have two jobs, the more exiting of the two being a research assistant for a research collaboration between my university and Oxford University.

So there you have it. I’m doing things. And because I’m a sentimental person who’s becoming increasingly aware of the dwindling time I have left in this town, I’m trying to spend as much time with friends as possible. Last weekend, I went to a film festival a few towns over with a high school friend turned college friend, saw some cool films (my favorites were The Fits and Cheerleader), ate a ton of food, and practically went on a coffee crawl throughout the city. These photos were taken while exploring downtown in between films.

wall1wall4wall3_MG_9127

In the true conscious consumer spirit, I haven’t been shopping in ages, which, if you know me, is quite the accomplishment. Instead, I’ve been focusing on wearing what I own in new and interesting ways or borrowing from my roommate. Borrowing or swapping clothes with friends is a great way to cut back on textile consumption, which benefits the environment and doesn’t support sweatshops.

These shorts were originally some truly horrible acid-wash bermuda shorts that my roommate thrifted and made into cutoffs that I’ve practically stolen from her. I paired them with a basic tank top she’s had since we were freshman and some fun sandals I’ve had since high school. Easy breezy.

What are you up to these days?

– Lauren

*Photos by Teah Shaw

4 thoughts on “Back At It

Leave a Reply

